Fools for April

Dear Peanut and Munchkin,

Hoo boy, the last month or so was a doozie! Daddy and I are thrilled to welcome April, if just to be done with February and March.

Easter came early this year, on March 31st. Though it is always a joy to celebrate the Resurrection of our Lord, it also means Daddy is extra, extra busy in the weeks before, and especially during Holy Week.

I have been super busy at work, too. I had to go out of town for several days for a training session in mid-March, and for several weeks before and after, I was working lots of overtime. I was staying up to the wee hours of the morning fairly frequently, just trying to get everything done. And then, I worked almost 48 hours straight the Wednesday and Thursday before Easter. One thing is certain: I’m not in college anymore. Pulling all-nighters should be a thing of the past for me, and I’m still trying to recuperate from all the sleep loss.

Adding further complications, we’ve had hardly a day without a sick person in our family, as we’ve been dealing with one illness after another. We’ve all had colds and coughs. Peanut had pink eye a few times, as well as croup again. Daddy caught pink eye, too. But I’m the grand prize winner: in the last 6 weeks, I’ve had shingles, laryngitis, bronchitis, pink eye, and strep throat. Granted, my immune system was likely impaired by the significant, continuous lack of sleep. Still not sure how Munchkin managed to avoid the pink eye, though.

Needless to say, it’s been hard to keep up with household stuff. In addition to the normal daily needs, Peanut split a kitchen cabinet door in two, then the dishwasher broke the weekend before Easter. Neither has been fixed yet, though we had a repair man take a look at the dishwasher. He said it would actually be more economical to just get a new one, but that it was unusual for those specific parts to break on a two-year-old dishwasher. He suggested we try to get the manufacturer to at least pay for the parts, but with all the time Daddy and I were spending at work, we didn’t have time to follow up. We switched to paper plates and plastic utensils, but even so, it seems we create a mountain of dishes each day, what with all the bottles, sippy cups, pacifiers, teethers, etc.

Now Daddy’s schedule is returning to normal, and my projects are complete, we’re looking forward to working less and spending more time with you, sweet kiddos, and taking care of stuff around the house. It feels like our family’s health is improving, too, which is a welcome relief. And the weather is starting to warm up.

Blessed Easter! Welcome, April! Bring on the renewal and new life!

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Daddy, Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment