A Banner Day

Dear Munchkin and Peanut,

It’s been more than three months since my last letter. There were many times I’d think of something I wanted to memorialize for you, but then I’d get distracted by the demands of life with two little kids.

Daddy’s national convention is this week. He leaves each day before you wake up and comes home long after you’re asleep. You miss him terribly. I do, too, but I soldier on in the life of a single parent. Honestly, I don’t know how people do it indefinitely. It’s exhausting.

But a couple days ago, one of Daddy’s compositions was being performed in front of the entire convention gathering, and the publisher singled him out for acknowledgement. It was the first time Daddy had been recognized as a composer on the national scale, so it was a pretty big deal for him. Given the sacrifices you and I make to support him, it was a big deal for us, too. Daddy and I felt we should all be there to witness this milestone.

With the help of our beloved nanny, I packed our gear and took you to the Metro station to ride the train downtown — an adventure in itself. We found Daddy playing a piano in the lobby of the convention center and had a few precious minutes to reconnect before he had to take care of some of his planning committee responsibilities. We had a leisurely lunch, then went on a mini-scavenger hunt to see some sights before returning to the big hall for the publishing company’s showcase at 1:30.

By that time, though, Peanut was visibly tired. He climbed into my lap and snuggled close, his not-so-little body melting into me. Shortly after, he fell asleep, his face turned up to mine. He’s nearly three years old now; I know these experiences will grow more and more infrequent. Though my arms ached, I cradled him for nearly an hour, unwilling to let go of my baby just yet.

When it was time for Daddy’s song, I tried to rouse Peanut, but he barely opened his eyes. Munchkin was fully aware, though, noting that Daddy used to sing it to her as a lullaby. What a beautiful memory for her!

Peanut began waking up as the showcase ended, and we had one last chance to spend a few minutes with Daddy before the journey home.

It was a day full of blessings.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Daddy, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

