Grammy’s Baked Ziti

Dear Peanut and Munchkin,

Yesterday I made baked ziti for Peanut’s school picnic, from Grammy’s recipe. It was my favorite meal growing up, but took a long time to prepare, so we didn’t have it more than a few times a year. The last time she made it for me was when she, Grandpa and Aunt C came to visit me the summer before Daddy and I became engaged.

I often helped her with it as a kid and teenager. And I’ve made it enough times by myself that I’m very comfortable with the process, though I still need to read the recipe. I’ve tweaked it a little, adding more seasoning, but it’s still her recipe. It’s still her.

At the picnic yesterday, someone said my baked ziti made her feel like she was eating in a fancy, authentic Italian restaurant. It was quite the compliment, but I gave the credit to Grammy.

I always will.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Mama and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

