The Old and the Curious

Dear Munchkin,

Yesterday, during our walk, we had this little exchange:

“Mama?”
“Yes, Munchkin?”
“You’re old.”
*Sigh* “Yeeeesss. I am.”
“How many years do you have?”
“I am thirty-five years old.”
“How many years is Daddy?”
“Daddy is thirty-seven years old.”
“When will you be the same as Daddy?”
“I will be thirty-seven in two years.”
“Hey, Daddy! Mommy is going to have a birthday and then she will be twenty-seven, just like you!”
Thirty-seven, Munchkin. I will be thirty-seven in two years.”
“Hey, Daddy! Mommy is going to have a birthday and she will be thirty-seven in TWO WEEKS!”
“Two years, Munchkin! Two YEARS!”

At which point, I succumbed to laughter, realizing your exclamations to Daddy were loud enough that some of our neighbors may even have heard them inside their houses.

Ah, Munchkin, no matter how old I may get, I’m sure you will always keep me young.

All my love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Daddy, Mama, Munchkin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

