Ebb and Flow

Dear Peanut and Munchkin,

My work is the kind that ebbs and flows. Sometimes, things are pretty calm and I may have some down time. Other times, it’s a mad rush to a deadline and I may have to work a lot of overtime. It’s been the latter recently, with more than one major project on deadline. I’ve been working a lot, even staying up until the wee hours of the morning — repeatedly — in an effort to get it all done. And I will probably continue this pace for another couple weeks.

There have also been changes in our home life and circumstances this month. Over the last few weeks, I’ve spent a lot of time researching our next steps. We have a plan now, but more on that later.

And…it’s tax time. Daddy does a lot of independent musician-for-hire work, which complicates our taxes. Although we have an accountant do all the IRS forms, we still have to provide the raw data, which means a stack of forms to fill out and a packet of supporting documentation to pull together. That kind of organization and attention to detail is my specialty, so the task falls to me.

February has been a challenge, to say the least. I haven’t been able to spend as much time with you as I’d like. Even though I’m still in the house, I’ve been missing you dearly. Then about a week ago, I was diagnosed with shingles, likely caused by stress, though my immune system may also be worn down from fighting off all the bugs that proliferate during this time of year.

Thankfully, Daddy has been very supportive. He’s been taking care of you while I’m holed up in my office downstairs, which has made for some very long days for him, too. It’s a blessing that at least one parent can be with you and focused on you even when the other has to be “away” for a while. Daddy has busy seasons, too, when these roles are reversed.

Through all of this, you learn there are phases to life. They teach you that your parents love you deeply; though we may have to separate for a time, we are always thinking of you and we always come back. And you can depend on your family to offer security and love, no matter what the tide may bring.

This entry was posted in Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

