Superbirthdaybowl

Dear Munchkin and Peanut,

While Daddy and I were still long-distance dating, I came to visit him the weekend of Superbowl XXXIX. He told me we would be going to a Superbowl party at the home of some of his friends I hadn’t met yet.

He didn’t tell me until we were on our way to their house that they might not be there when we arrived. They were bringing their new baby home from the hospital.

I had already been a little nervous about meeting a lot of new people, especially since they’d all known each other since college and many of them were related by blood or marriage. This new information made me feel exceptionally out of place: an interloper at an event typically reserved for family and close friends. Daddy assured me everything would be fine.

He was right. They and their guests welcomed me as one of their own, even going out of their way to make me feel at home. I gawked at the days-old infant with everyone else, and soon began to let my guard down with the adults, too.

Little did I know that this family would become my good friends, too, not just Daddy’s. We eventually asked them to be Munchkin’s Catholic Godparents, but more on that later.

Since then, we have returned to their home for each successive Superbowl party, combined with a birthday celebration for their oldest child. Over the years, the group has grown by spouses and more children. We’ve also said goodbye to some who have moved away.

Daddy and I always look forward to this opportunity to gather together, as well as other events this family hosts at different times of the year. Not only do we enjoy the adult camaraderie, but it’s also wonderful to see the children grow and play together. They range in age from adolescent to a little over a year old now, and there is still at least one more on the way. The younger kids watch and learn from the older, while the older ones practice being careful of the babies. And all the adults keep an eye on all the kids, allowing the children to experience different parenting approaches. The adults have an opportunity to learn from each other, too.

We are a village if there ever was one.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Superbirthdaybowl

  1. Pingback: Munchkin’s Catholic Godparents | Notebook of Memory

Leave a Reply

