Lullabies

Dear Munchkin and Peanut,

It warms my heart that you both love it when I sing to you at bedtime. At various times, you have both asked for more, whether I’m pausing just for a moment or had really intended to be done with lullabies for the night. (On occasion, it can become a distraction that helps you fight off sleep.)

I have a fairly large repertoire that I select from each night, which includes traditional lullabies, evening hymns, children’s hymns, soothing songs from musicals, and lullabies/soothing songs by contemporary recording artists, as well as one Daddy wrote for me when we were dating. From the day after Thanksgiving through Epiphany, I also use some appropriately quiet Advent and Christmas carols. Since Munchkin has been able to sufficiently communicate certain favorites, I’ve sometimes asked her to choose one or more songs for the night. I’ll do the same for Peanut when he has that capability, too.

I remember that as a little girl, one of my favorite things was listening to my mom sing lullabies at bedtime; I love that you’ll have similar fond memories as adults. Now I’m a mom, one of my favorite things is singing lullabies for my little ones, and I hope you’ll feel the same way about continuing the tradition with your own children some day.

This entry was posted in Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lullabies

  1. pammax64 says:

    What a beautiful post! My 10 and 11 year olds still sometimes ask me to sing them our special lullaby, Angel’s Lullaby by Richard Marx. It still makes me cry when I sing a particular part of it.

    • littlemizc says:

      Thanks for your kind comment. I’m not familiar with Angel’s Lullaby but will have to check it out now. It’s also encouraging to know I may have more opportunities to share this special time with my kids even when they’re considerably older.

Leave a Reply

