Sometimes you’re the windshield; sometimes you’re the bug.

Dear Munchkin,

You’ve had a turn as “the bug” in the last couple days. Saturday night, as I was heating some soup on the stove for your dinner, you came over to give me a kiss. Unfortunately, I happened to catch a glimpse of a scary scene right then: your brother standing on the edge of his booster seat and stretching his whole body to reach for something across the table. As I dashed over to him, I bumped into you, knocking you – specifically your mouth – into the corner of the island. Hooboy, that must have hurt. You immediately started wailing, but I had to get Peanut down off that chair first. Less than a minute later, I was able to give you an ice pack and wrap you in a hug. Fortunately, there was no permanent damage, but your upper lip was a little swollen, and you were definitely sore when it was time to brush your teeth before bed.

Then yesterday morning, your brother kept pulling your hair while we were getting ready for church, which also set you wailing. I know that hurts, because he does it to me, too. He doesn’t really understand that it hurts yet, but the fact there’s no malice involved doesn’t really help when you feel like he’s going to rip the hair right out (and sometimes, he does). As if that wasn’t enough, when I was buckling you into your car seat, my hand slipped and bopped you on the nose.

Poor kid. I feel awful about causing you pain, even accidentally. And it really upsets me when Peanut pulls your hair (or mine, or Daddy’s, or anybody else’s). The best I can do for now is offer first aid and lots of kisses and hugs, if you’ll let me. Sometimes you just want to be left alone, and that hurts me a little too. As your mom, I want to be able to “make it better” for you; it’s difficult for me to accept that I can’t always do that. But know that I’ll always be here for you, Munchkin, whether the pain is physical or emotional. If you come to me, I will always offer comfort.

This entry was posted in Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

