Hummus

Dear Munchkin and Peanut,

Today I’m thankful that I had the courage to try hummus earlier this month. I had been afraid of it ever since I was first introduced to it. I’ve always had a gag reaction to foods with certain textures: cream cheese, cottage cheese, mayonnaise, guacamole, etc. I assumed I would have the same problem with hummus.

The idea of trying new things kept coming up at the Healthy Food, Happy Wallet conference, so at lunch, I tried a tiny bit. Since then, I have been enjoying hummus in various flavors with a variety of chips and breads. But I still wouldn’t touch mayo with a ten-foot pole!

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Mama and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hummus

  1. Linda says:

    Making your own is really easy and inexpensive, too. Just take a can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans and drain it, but save the liquid. Throw the beans in a food processor, add about 1/4 cup reserved liquid, a tablespoon lemon choice, garlic (optional), and pulse. Add more reserved liquid or olive oil while processing until desired consistency. Then salt and pepper to taste. You can add al sorts of other stuff – our favorite is a half cup of sundried tomatoes or a sauteed or roasted bell pepper.

Leave a Reply

