Democracy at work

Dear Peanut and Munchkin,

I’m thankful that the democracy in which we live allows for the peaceful transfer of power, and allows people who disagree politically to live in harmony with one another.

Sadly, there is no guarantee those people will choose to live in harmony, and it seems the extremists on both ends are growing more virulent and bitter. But I am thankful that reasonable, rational folks still outnumber the crazies, even if the crazies seem to drown us out. Your dad wrote this on his Facebook page today. I think it’s perfect.

Last night, at about 6:30, after I dropped off the kids at my mom’s for the night, my wife and I had our date night. We had a lovely dinner with a conversation mostly unmarred by political talk—and even when it came up, it was always in a civil, respectful way.

We are polar opposites on so many things. She favors one way politically, I favor the other. She’s Lutheran, I’m Catholic. She’s socially introverted (but processes externally), I’m socially extroverted (but process internally). Our ballots only matched each other on judges and initiatives.

At the end of the day, we can share a meal together, share a conversation with each other, share a bed together, and kiss each other good night. We agree to disagree on some things. We fundamentally agree on the important things. We love each other and our kids insanely.

America, learn from us.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Daddy, Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

