Turning the clocks back

Dear Peanut and Munchkin,

With kids as young as you are, parents are never guaranteed that extra hour of sleep when we turn the clocks back at the end of Daylight Savings Time. Today I am thankful for a modicum of extra sleep last night. Peanut woke up about 20-25 minutes before we actually had to get up this morning. In trying to get to something on the night table, he climbed on top of Munchkin, which I think began her arousal process. I was surprised that my attempt to put Peanut in the baby swing at the foot of the bed was actually successful. I’d expected him to fight it immediately. But I was able to return to bed, however briefly. Of course, Munchkin fully awoke shortly thereafter and started poking me and telling me to wake up. “We don’t have to be awake yet,” I pleaded, and she, too, was merciful. A few minutes later, my phone lit up and the alarm started playing. Munchkin was quick to point it out, and I conceded it was time. But something is better than nothing, so thank you both for giving me that extra half hour.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Mama, Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

