Ephesians 2:8-9

“For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.” Ephesians 2:8-9 NASB

My dear children,

Today is All Saints’ Day. Yesterday was Reformation Day. So it seemed appropriate to begin my “30 Days of Thanks” journey by writing about faith. The verses quoted above are among my favorites because they make me feel free. We don’t have to be weighed down by always trying to be “good enough,” because we never could be anyway. We could never measure up to God’s ruler: He will only accept perfection. So Jesus stands in our place. Of course, that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try to do God’s will, just that when we fail, Christ picks us back up, dusts us off and gives us a pep talk before sending us back out into the fray.

All too often, one of the ways I fail to do God’s will is by worrying about what other people think of me. Even though I know God’s opinion is really what matters, I frequently try to measure up to whatever rulers those around me are using, always wondering if they think I’m “good enough” by their standards. Some people might judge me by my appearance, others judge my parenting decisions or housekeeping. There are probably as many “rulers” as there are individuals, and trying to be “good enough” for all of them is exhausting.

I’ve gotten a lot better in recent years at remembering that I don’t need to worry about what other people think. You, my children, have helped teach me that I really can’t do everything. Right now, it’s more important that your father and I focus on being your parents and all that entails. It doesn’t matter that our house is cluttered and there are always mountains of laundry – both clean and dirty. It doesn’t matter that I don’t cook from scratch every night or spend a lot of time primping each morning. What does matter is that our home is full of love and laughter. And faith. And I’m thankful for that freedom.

Love,
Mama

This entry was posted in Munchkin, Peanut and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

